The Boneless Mercies Book Review

First off, huge thanks to Emma at MissPrint. I received this ARC as part of MissPrint’s Arc Adoption Program.

Secondly, here’s the synopsis for The Boneless Mercies by April Genevieve Tucholke.

Frey, Ovie, Juniper, and Runa are the Boneless Mercies—girls hired to kill quickly, quietly, and mercifully. But Frey is weary of the death trade and, having been raised on the heroic sagas of her people, dreams of a bigger life.

When she hears of an unstoppable monster ravaging a nearby town, Frey decides this is the Mercies’ one chance out. The fame and fortune of bringing down such a beast would ensure a new future for all the Mercies. In fact, her actions may change the story arc of women everywhere.

Full of fierce girls, bloodlust, tenuous alliances, and unapologetic quests for glory, this elegantly spun tale challenges the power of storytelling—and who gets to be the storyteller. Perfect for fans of Maggie Stiefvater, V.E. Schwab, and Heidi Heilig.

I absolutely loved this book! It has everything I love: fantasy elements, fierce female characters, mythology, and a little bit of magic. It only took me about a week to finish, which is pretty good for a busy college student. The pacing felt a little slow at parts, but was altogether great in the end.

What draw me to this book was the mythology aspect. I’m a sucker for any sort of  mythology inspired fantasy the most and I knew I had to read this book ASAP! When I saw that it was recommended to fans of Maggie Stiefvater and V.E. Schwab, I knew it was a match made in heaven.

I won’t say too much more about the plot because of spoilers, but if you love mythology inspired fantasy or really fantasy in general, this is the book for you!

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s